Raspberry Lemon Tiramisu

Made this for a sweet friend’s baby shower. She was expecting a girl and I wanted to make a pink dessert. Actually, I am completely against the pink for girls and blue for boys tradition but I was in the mood to make a pink dessert so this was a perfect opportunity 😉

Every time I make something, I have to do something different as it gives me opportunity to learn and experiment ..at the expense of my friends 😛 This was a crowd pleaser btw 🙂

So, I have made Tiramisu many a times. I specifically love Mascarpone cheese. To me it’s perfect in desserts. It’s smooth, creamy, light and it doesn’t taste cheesy at all. Of course, it has a distinct taste that I think gives it’s unique flavor to Tiramisu. I also love lemon and use it as much as I can. I knew Raspberry and lemon goes well together so ventured on this and I am glad I did.

Raspberry Lemon Tiramasu-3

Disclaimer – I did not measure ingredients but have tried my best to size them below.

Servings – 12-16

Ingredients

Lady fingers 48 count

Mascarpone cheese 16 oz tub

Whipping cream – 4 cups

Raspberries – fresh/frozen mashed a little

lemon syrup – Bring 1 cup of water with 1/2 cup sugar to boil, and peel of 2 lemons, 6-8 mint leaves, simmer for a couple mins and remove from heat. Cool down.  OR simply mix lemon curd and mint leaves with hot water and you get the same result.

Zest of 1 lemon

Sugar 1 cup

Method

Mix the mascarpone, sugar, raspberries, zest of 1 lemon and whisk until the whipping cream becomes thick and everything is mixed well.

You can keep another small cream mix ready for frosting. Do not add raspberries to it but add raspberry liquid until you get a pale pink color.

I used a cheese cake pan for this so removing the pan after the cake was set was easy. Layer the pan with parchment paper or foil.

Strain the lemon syrup and take it in a shallow dish.

Now layering,

Dip a lady finger in the lemon syrup. You don’t want it to soak too much liquid. Place in the pan.

Once a layer or lady fingers is formed. Add a layer of the raspberry cream.

Keep doing this until the pan is filled.

Freeze for 5/6 hrs.

Remove the Tiramisu from the pan. Frost it with the cream saved for frosting. Decorate with fresh raspberries.

Raspberry Lemon Tiramasu

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Raspberry Lemon Tiramisu

Leave a Reply

