Image

Dates honey and almond Biscotti with hints of lemon

A healthy and middle eastern twist on Italian biscotti.

I was watching Chef Vikas Khanna talking about his approach to cooking recently. He said, in my cooking I love to add layers of flavors. He is an idol  and I felt so happy to hear that as I try to do the same when I cook. I love to come up with my own flavor combinations, layers of it and then work with a recipe and see how it turns out.

I have had my shares of failures especially when I try to make a recipe too healthy  🙂 But this turned out good. I try to use no sugar or as little sugar as I can and try to increase the health quotient of any recipe. So instead of All purpose I use whole wheat flour. Instead of sugar, added sweetness with dates and honey and so on.

HoneyDateAlmodBiscotti-4

Quantity – 28-30

Ingredients

2 cups All purpose flour or whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup canola oil

1/3 cup sugar

1/2 cup honey

2 eggs

2 tsp lemon zest

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup chopped dates

1 cup chopped almonds

 

Mix chopped dates with little flour and keep aside.

Mix flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a bowl to combine.

In a separate larger bowl, whisk eggs, oil, sugar, honey, lemon zest and vanilla until smooth.

Stir in dry mixture into the wet mixture. Mix well and then add dates and nuts and mix well.

Refrigerate the dough for atleast an hr.

Preheat over on 350 degree.

Divide the dough in 3 parts. Roll each one into desired size log. After first baking the logs will be double in size. The logs will be then cut into biscottis which we will bake again.

Line baking tray with mat or parchment paper. Place the logs on the tray. keep enough distance between them.

Bake for 20 mins, turing the pan once after 10 mins. Remove from oven. But do not turn off the oven.

Let the logs rest for 15 mins and then slice them to the required thickness. I like 1/2 inch. That way you also get more biscotti.

HoneyDateAlmondBiscotti-5

Transfer the slices back to baking pan, cut side up and bake for 12 mins. Remove and cool in the tray itself.

It stays good for at least a week at room temp.

HoneyDateAlmodBiscotti-3

 

 

2 thoughts on “Dates honey and almond Biscotti with hints of lemon

  1. I love biscotti but stopped buying ‘cos of all the the sugar and other ingredients. Was thrilled to come across your post on CCC today. Just took them out of the oven and they are amazing! Really delicious and so easy to make! Thank you:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

