Vegetable Ceviche

My first post on my crisp new blog 🙂 Starting with a recipe I created for a cooking contest for Women Now TV It is a set of highly inspiring and sweet women who had organized an event called Dilli Haat which is inspired by an event with the same name organized in Delhi, India. It was an open air food, art and craft fair. The event got lot of attention with thousands of Bay Area residents showing up and enjoying the event.

One of the big attractions for me was the cook off as it was going to be judged by one the celebrity chefs Ranveer Brar #chefranveerbrar of www.ranveerbrar.com who was  one of the judges on MasterChef India.

ceviche4.jpg

We were given 3 ingredients to prepare the dish – Achiote Squash, corn and chia seeds. This is the best time for me as the process to come up with a new dish is a fun creative process. I came up with a a bunch of ideas from cold soup to drink to thai squash noodles to Ceviche. Ceviche I thought was the simple yet innovative recipes.  I played around and had my recipe ready.

But the day of the competition turned out to be quite dramatic. I was down with fever since the previous day and wasn’t sure if I was going to show up for the competition. By 8 am that day, I felt like I can get up  and still participate in the competition. But I had only 2 hrs at hand to prepare everything and show up at the venue at 10 am. Luckily with the help of my husband who is always there and friends, I was able to be there on time with my dish.

Out of 50+ dishes at the cook-off, 10 dishes were chosen based on various criteria. I was happy to be one of ten as that gave me a chance to discuss my dish with the Chef. All 10 of us received a gift hamper each with lots of goodies but the best gift for me was when #chefranveerbrar told me on the stage that he thought the ceviche was brilliant and he will remember this dish.

ceviche6.jpg

During the judging session with#chefranveerbrar, he told me that I needed more sweetness to the dish which I totally agreed. In the scramble to prepare my dish in that short time, I realized that the nectarines I picked up from my yard were not as sweet as they were when I created the recipe. I tried to adjust the sweetness quickly with sugar but that didn’t help as much. #chefranveerbrar suggestion was to add fresh coconut or lychee to manage the sweetness.

So here goes the recipe.

Ingredients 

  • 1 cup Julienned squash
  • 3/4 cup Thinly sliced nectarine
  • 1/2 cup Roasted corn
  • 1/2 cup Thinly sliced sweet peppers
  • 1/2 cup Thinly sliced Jalapeño
  • 1 tbsp Chia seeds
  • 2 tbsp Lemon juice
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp Garlic chopped
  • 1/2 tsp Balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 cup Siphoned mint, basil and Cilantro
  • salt and pepper per taste

Directions

  • Roast Corn.
  • Mix squash, nectarine, sweet peppers, jalapeno, corn and Chia seeds.
  • Add basil, mint and cilantro.
  • Sprinkled Chia seeds and mix  everything together.
  • Mix in lemon juice, olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic and balsamic vinegar in a separate bowl and pour over the veggies and again mix well.
  • Optionally, add chipotle mayo at the bottom of the dish. Top with the Ceviche and Serve with chips on the side.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

